Boulder Dash Forum Forum Index Boulder Dash Forum
The only Boulder Dash discussion board in English language!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The Probe
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Boulder Dash Forum Forum Index -> Games: Remakes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
paul_nicholls
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Location: Tasmania, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So has anyone here tried The Probe yet?

How about you subotai? Very Happy
_________________
Syntax Error Designs
https://www.spreadshirt.com.au/user/Syntax+Error+Design
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
subotai
Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

paul_nicholls wrote:
So has anyone here tried The Probe yet? How about you subotai?

Of course I did. I already wanted to answer, but I didn't have much time to test it (many pre-christmas parties Wink ). Thanks for the upload!

I like the game. The scrolling is pretty smooth and the graphical effects are very nice (transparent acid with bubbles, laser beam, effect when collecting diamonds, etc.). I also like the elements.

I remarked the following things:
When you use the editor and set more than one player, the first scanned player (probe) always gets the focus. But as you can only use one player for the moment, it doesn't make sense that a static element gets the focus for the scrolling. I would also disable the scrolling when you loose a life. Otherwise, the screen scrolls to the upper left.

The gamepad conrol works good, as long as I don't use the analog stick of my gamepad. When releasing the analog stick, the player keeps moving.
Code:
Const
  JOYAXIS_MAXVAL=25000;
...
IF Y<-JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_Up else
IF Y>JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_down else
IF X<-JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_left else
IF X>JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_right;


If I have time, I will try to build some levels.

P.S. : It's really very quit around here. Many silent readers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul_nicholls
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Location: Tasmania, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

subotai wrote:
paul_nicholls wrote:
So has anyone here tried The Probe yet? How about you subotai?

Of course I did. I already wanted to answer, but I didn't have much time to test it (many pre-christmas parties Wink ). Thanks for the upload!


LOL No worries, I was just curious if anyone had tried it yet Smile
Ahh...pre-christmas parties...HIC! hahaha...just kidding!

subotai wrote:
I like the game. The scrolling is pretty smooth and the graphical effects are very nice (transparent acid with bubbles, laser beam, effect when collecting diamonds, etc.). I also like the elements.


Thanks for the kind words mate! I'm glad you like it Very Happy

subotai wrote:
I remarked the following things:
When you use the editor and set more than one player, the first scanned player (probe) always gets the focus. But as you can only use one player for the moment, it doesn't make sense that a static element gets the focus for the scrolling.


Ah yeah, I need to change it so the editor can't put more than one Probe, or TLS emitter/receiver in the levels as that doesn't make much sense in the game as it stands Smile Thanks for pointing that out!

subotai wrote:
I would also disable the scrolling when you loose a life. Otherwise, the screen scrolls to the upper left.


I have actually fixed that glitch now, it will be in the next update Smile

subotai wrote:
The gamepad conrol works good, as long as I don't use the analog stick of my gamepad. When releasing the analog stick, the player keeps moving.
Code:
Const
  JOYAXIS_MAXVAL=25000;
...
IF Y<-JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_Up else
IF Y>JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_down else
IF X<-JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_left else
IF X>JOYAXIS_MAXVAL then Move_right;


hmm...interesting, I don't have an analog stick controller to test it with, only a digital joystick and game pad...

I have similar code with my gamepad control input too, so I am unsure why it keeps the player moving yet...thanks for finding out that bug Smile

Code:
procedure TTheProbe.GetPlayerInput;
var
  xpos,ypos,zpos: LongInt;
begin
  FProbeEngine.MoveUp    := xeEngine.Window.KeyIsDown(FConfiguration.Controls[GameKey_MoveUp]);
  FProbeEngine.MoveDown  := xeEngine.Window.KeyIsDown(FConfiguration.Controls[GameKey_MoveDown]);
  FProbeEngine.MoveLeft  := xeEngine.Window.KeyIsDown(FConfiguration.Controls[GameKey_MoveLeft]);
  FProbeEngine.MoveRight := xeEngine.Window.KeyIsDown(FConfiguration.Controls[GameKey_MoveRight]);
  FProbeEngine.Firing    := PlayerFiring;

  if FConfiguration.JoystickEnabled and (xeEngine.Window.GetGameControllersCount > 0) then
  begin
    xeEngine.Window.GetGameControllerXYZPositions(cDefaultGameController,xpos,ypos,zpos);

    if not FProbeEngine.MoveUp and (ypos < -cMinControlMovement) then
      FProbeEngine.MoveUp := True;

    if not FProbeEngine.MoveDown and (ypos > +cMinControlMovement) then
      FProbeEngine.MoveDown := True;

    if not FProbeEngine.MoveLeft and (xpos < -cMinControlMovement) then
      FProbeEngine.MoveLeft := True;

    if not FProbeEngine.MoveRight and (xpos > +cMinControlMovement) then
      FProbeEngine.MoveRight := True;
  end;
end;


subotai wrote:
If I have time, I will try to build some levels.

ok, cool...I am interested in what you come up with Smile

BTW, links going from a vortex or teleporter don't actually have to point to another another vortex/teleporter when building levels...that is just usually what I have done when using them Smile

subotai wrote:
P.S. : It's really very quit around here. Many silent readers Wink


It is rather quiet...I guess it is that time of year Smile

cheers,
Paul
_________________
Syntax Error Designs
https://www.spreadshirt.com.au/user/Syntax+Error+Design
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
subotai
Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

paul_nicholls wrote:
Ahh...pre-christmas parties...HIC! hahaha...just kidding!
bull's eye Laughing
paul_nicholls wrote:
I have similar code with my gamepad control input too, so I am unsure why it keeps the player moving yet...thanks for finding out that bug

If you use a control pad, the values of the axis X/Y are always set to -1, when you release the control pad. The maximum values are about +/-32000. If you use an analog stick, these values are often higher/lower when you realease the analog stick (about +/-500 or even higher, not always -1). I think that the stick is not always in center position when you release it. Well, I don't know if these values differ with different gamepads/joysticks. I'm using the rumblepad II. Setting the minimum value of the axis to 25000 was just a guess. I think it can also be a bit lower, but should be about 20000.

Just increase the value of the following variable and it should work:
Code:
cMinControlMovement //about 20000..25000

Don't worry, I can test it for you Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul_nicholls
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Location: Tasmania, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

subotai wrote:
paul_nicholls wrote:
Ahh...pre-christmas parties...HIC! hahaha...just kidding!
bull's eye Laughing
paul_nicholls wrote:
I have similar code with my gamepad control input too, so I am unsure why it keeps the player moving yet...thanks for finding out that bug

If you use a control pad, the values of the axis X/Y are always set to -1, when you release the control pad. The maximum values are about +/-32000. If you use an analog stick, these values are often higher/lower when you realease the analog stick (about +/-500 or even higher, not always -1). I think that the stick is not always in center position when you release it. Well, I don't know if these values differ with different gamepads/joysticks. I'm using the rumblepad II. Setting the minimum value of the axis to 25000 was just a guess. I think it can also be a bit lower, but should be about 20000.

Just increase the value of the following variable and it should work:
Code:
cMinControlMovement //about 20000..25000

Don't worry, I can test it for you Smile


Ah, ok...this is what my current value is right now:

Code:
cMinControlMovement     = 200;


I will adjust it like you suggested and hopefully it will work for you when I release the next update...thanks!

EDIT: just so you know, 20000 works for me with my gamepad so hopefully all will be good for you too Smile
_________________
Syntax Error Designs
https://www.spreadshirt.com.au/user/Syntax+Error+Design
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
subotai
Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SDL Documentation wrote:
Structure Definition:
TSDL_JoyAxisEvent = record
type_: UInt8; // SDL_JOYAXISMOTION
which: UInt8; // The joystick device index
axis: UInt8; // The joystick axis index
value: Sint16; // The axis value (range: -32768 to 32767)
end;

The ranges for my gamepads:
Code:
first gamepad:
-32513..+32506 (for both axis)
second gamepad:
-32513..+32767 (for both axis)

paul_nicholls wrote:
just so you know, 20000 works for me with my gamepad so hopefully all will be good for you too

Can you play my game with your gamepad? I use 25000, but 20000 also works fine.

BTW: There is a "testjoystick" demo in the SDL subfolder "demos\2d\SDLTests".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paul_nicholls
Member


Joined: 12 Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Location: Tasmania, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hadn't tried your game with the gamepad yet, I will try it ASAP (will have to be tonight when I get home from work).

Thanks for the SDL info, and luckily I am using SDL behind the scenes in my cross-platform engine I made for The Probe Smile
_________________
Syntax Error Designs
https://www.spreadshirt.com.au/user/Syntax+Error+Design
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Boulder Dash Forum Forum Index -> Games: Remakes All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group